top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer T.

Peer Review

I have neglected my blog lately with the craziness of life, but I get back to the keyboard to talk about my latest task. I have switched from the DLL program to the ADL program so that I can graduate a little sooner. The ADL program has some different parts to it though that my core group and I haven't experienced.


We have been writing an article in 5317 that we are supposed to try to get published. It has to be related to our innovation project in some way. I have done a lot of research on flipped classrooms, so my hardest part was getting thoughts down on paper then finding the sources they originally came from after having written three literature reviews.


The part that was different this time is that we were tasked with grading our group members' rough drafts. We have always shared with each other what we have written, but never to actually put a grade on it. This time we came up with a rubric that covered some of the main things we needed in order to submit to a publisher:

  1. Article Topic - We had to have a clear topic that we were discussing that tied into our innovation plan. It needed to be written for a particular audience, and be backed with research.

  2. Word count - We looked at where we were planning to submit an article to and set levels of word count that were based on the requirements that the publishers had.

  3. Sources - Since the article is supposed to be research backed, there needed to be sources to support the topic. Citations needed to be done in the format required by the publishers to go along with the sources referenced at the end.

  4. Clarity of topic - The development of the topic had to be clear and effective by using examples and details in the writing.

  5. Conventions - This section was to look at grammatical and spelling issues that may come up in the rough draft. Too many mistakes make it hard to read, and the article would be more apt to be rejected by a publisher.

As I graded my group members' drafts, I first read through the article to see if it flowed well and made sense. I then pulled each document into my iPad app Notability and made notations on things that they should consider changing or fixing. I also screen recorded a video to explain what I meant on any changes I proposed. I considered the rubric that was created, gave a score, then sent the rubric, video, and marked PDF file to each group member.


As for my rubric scores, I was given two 48s and two 50s for an average of 49. I believe that I worked really hard for my score, and I hope that there aren't too many changes that need to be made to my article before final submission. My article, being the size that it is, will probably be sent to a math teachers' journal to see if I can get it to be one of their feature articles for the high school grade band.


3 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page